Skip to main content
IDB to announce winners of Juscelino Kubitschek Award

On Tuesday, 19 November, the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) will announce the winners of the third Juscelino Kubitschek Award of Merit for Regional Development in Latin America and the Caribbean

The award, created in recognition of a visionary former president of Brazil, acknowledges outstanding contributions by the region’s institutions in two categories: economics and finance, and social, cultural, and scientific achievement.

The winners will be announced at a press conference scheduled at 4:30 p.m. in the IDB’s Enrique V. Iglesias Conference Center, 1330 New York Avenue, NW, Washington, DC, with the participation of IDB President Luis Alberto Moreno and Ibero-American Secretary-General, Enrique V. Iglesias, who chaired the award’s selection committee.

For this third award, the selection committee received a record 496 nominations from organizations in 28 IDB’s member countries.

The winning institutions in each category will receive awards of $100,000. In the event of more than one winner per category, the prize will be divided equally.

The finalists selected in the Social, Cultural, and Scientific category are: 

Associação de Ballet e Artes para Cegos, Brazil
Cauce Ciudadano, Mexico
Comitê para Democratização da Informática, Seção Bahia, Brazil
Educación 2020, Chile
Guyra, Paraguay
Instituto Panameño de Educación por Radio, Panama
Instituto Nicaragüense de Cultura Hispánica, Nicaragua 

In the Economics and Finance category, the finalists are: 

Caribbean Center of Excellence for Youth Entrepreneurship, Barbados
Consorcio de Investigación Económica y Social, Peru
Grupo de Análisis para el Desarrollo, Peru
Serviço Brasileiro de Apoio às Micro e Pequenas Empresas, Brazil
Techo Internacional, Chile 

The members of the Juscelino Kubitschek Award selection committee are:

  • Gioconda Belli, Nicaraguan poet and novelist
  • Osvaldo Hurtado, former President of Ecuador
  • Maritta Koch-Weser, founder and President of Earth 3000
  • Luis María Linde, Governor of the Central Bank of Spain
  • Ángeles Mastretta, Mexican author and journalist
  • Billie Antoinette Miller, former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of Foreign Trade of Barbados
  • Paulo Sergio Pinheiro, former Secretary of Human Rights, Brazil
  • Bill Richardson, former Governor of New Mexico
  • Bernardo Toro, analyst on the Advisory Board of the Avina Foundation
  • Hitoshi Watanabe, President of the Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC) 

Media representatives wishing to cover the press conference must register with Jessica Castillo,, (202) 623-2966 or Mildred Rivera,, (202) 623-2319. The event will be Livestream

Jump back to top