Skip to main content
Distinguished Latin American and Caribbean leaders to select recipients of IDB’s Juscelino Kubitschek prize

The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) announced today the members of the panel in charge of selecting the two institutions that will receive the “Juscelino Kubitschek Latin American and Caribbean Regional Development Prize.”


The award, whose nomination process ends March 31st, 2009, recognizes the work of regional institutions in two main areas: Finance and economics and social, cultural and scientific development.


Juscelino Kubitschek was a distinguished Brazilian politician, elected governor of the state of Minas Gerais in 1950 and then president of Brazil in 1956, serving until 1961.


The prize was established to commemorate the IDB’s 50th anniversary in 2009, and will be awarded in Brasilia in August 2009.


IDB President Luis Alberto Moreno will chair the Selection Committee for the prize. The committee’s secretary will be the secretary general of the Ibero-American Secretariat, Enrique V. Iglesias.


The members of the jury committee are:


Angeles Mastretta, Mexican journalist and writer
Francisco Flores, former president of El Salvador;
Pedro Pablo Kuczynski, former prime minister of Peru; 
Osvaldo Hurtado, former president of Ecuador;
José Goldemberg, renowned Brazilian physicist and environmentalist;
Ricardo Lagos, former president of Chile; 
Billie Antoinette Miller, former foreign and trade minister of Barbados;
Percival Noel James Patterson, former prime minister of Jamaica;
Michel Camdessus, former managing director of the International Monetary Fund;
Hiroshi Watanabe, president  and CEO of Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC);
José Octavio Bordón, former ambassador of Argentina to the White House;
Rosa Conde, director of Spain’s Fundación Carolina.


An individual, an academic institution, a research center, or a cultural center may nominate institutions for the Juscelino Kubitschek Prize. Nominations must be made in writing and must include a detailed description of the merits and regional importance of the work or contribution. Nomination forms are available on the Bank’s website at


Proposals may be submitted by e-mail to or by certified mail sent to IDB headquarters in Washington (1300 New York Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C., 20577, U.S.A. Stop E1205), or to any IDB member country office.

Jump back to top