The Latin American Investment Facility finances collaboration opportunities in the region’s Water and Sanitation sector through a strategic alliance established by the Inter-American Development Bank and the Spanish Development Cooperation Agency (AECID, after its Spanish initials).


From a commitment shared by the European Union, AECID and the IDB, the program ¨Promoting CC Adaptation and IWRM Investment for the water and sanitation sector in Latin America” is a program finance through the European Commission’s Latin America Investment Facility that tackles regional challenges by:

  • Becoming a catalyst for new investment opportunities that may foster universal coverage in the region.

  • Developing an integrated approach leading to the promotion and escalation of actions, methodologies, strategies and policies with an across-the-board effect throughout the region.

  • Promoting a more effective presence of the components of the Integrated Water Resources.

  • Management and Climate Change Adaptation in the Fund for Water and Sanitation operations in order to attain a greater impact on participating countries.


The program contemplates a 15.3 million euros European Union and AECID grant, of which the IDB manages and executes 12.86 million euros. The program’s actions are implemented through two components:

  • Climate Change Adaptation (CCA): Its goal is to support the adoption of CCA measures (mostly in connection with extreme events such as droughts and floods) both in policies and in water and sanitation investments.

  • Integrated water resources management (IWRM): It aims to impact the sector’s policy and investment development by promoting solutions adapted to the needs and capabilities of the communities, with a special focus on sanitation and on water management.

The program is executed through technical cooperation (TC) programs executed by the IDB and funded by no reimbursable LAIF resources.

The countries eligible for such funds are: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

The opinions expressed in this website do not necessarily reflect the official opinion of the European Union or of AECID.