Skip Global Navigation
Topics Sustainability
IDB Home > Topics > Sustainability > Independent Assessment
Comment Tool Comment
Comment Tool Comment

Your comment for this page:

Share Tool Share
close Share Tool Share

Independent Advisory Group on Sustainability

The Independent Advisory Group on Sustainability was convened in fulfillment of a commitment the Bank made in 2006, when it adopted the new Environment and Safeguard Compliance Policy. At that time the IDB pledged to report its experience with the implementation of the policy and obtain an independent evaluation of the achievement of its objectives within three years.

The Advisory Group, composed of nine experts from throughout the region, conducted an independent review that included consultations with governments, the private sector, beneficiaries, and civil society organizations. Based on its review the Advisory Group provided advice and recommendations to the IDB on the implementation of its policies as well as guidance as to emerging sustainability issues in the region and the Bank’s capacity to address them.

John Agard (Trinidad and Tobago) Professor of Marine and Environmental Sciences at the University of West Indies; Former Chairman of the Environmental Management Authority of Trinidad and Tobago.

Rosalía Arteaga (Ecuador) President of the Fundación para la Integración y Desarrollo de América Latina; Executive Director of Fundacion Natura regional; Former minister of Education, Vice President and President of Ecuador; and former Secretary-general of the Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization.

Rafael Asenjo Manager of a $35 million project in charge of organizing Chile’s protected areas system, Former Executive Director (the first) of the National Commission for the Environment in Chile (CONAMA) and former Executive Coordinator for the UNDP, Global Environmental Facility (GEF).

Israel Klabin (Brazil) Founder and President of the Brazilian Foundation for Sustainable Development; Former consultant to the Brazilian Government; and Former Mayor of Rio de Janeiro.

Thomas E. Lovejoy (United States) Biodiversity Chair and Former President of The H. John Heinz III Center for Science Economics and the Environment; Former Chief Biodiversity Advisor to the World Bank; Chief Scientist and Counselor at the Smithsonian Institution; and Science Advisor to the Secretary of the Interior.

Juan Mayr Maldonado (Colombia) Former Minister of Environment, Colombia; Member of the UN Secretary General Panel of Eminent Persons on UN-Civil Society Relationships; Former Chair of Commission for Sustainable Development; and Former Chair of Biosecurity Protocol Negotiations: and Member of the National Commission for Conciliation in Colombia.

Carlos Manuel Rodriguez (Costa Rica) Vice-president for Global Policy and former Regional Vice-President and Director of the Conservation Biodiversity Center for Mexico and Central America at Conservation International (CI); Former Environment and Energy minister for Costa Rica.

Francis Sullivan (United Kingdom) Deputy Head of Group corporate sustainability and Adviser on the Environment at HSBC Holdings plc; Member of the judging panel of the Whitley Awards for Nature Conservation; and Member of the Advisory Board of the Environmental Change Institute at Oxford University.

Emma S. Torres (Bolivia) is a Senior Adviser at the Regional Bureau for Latin America and the Caribbean, UNDP. She has served as Director of the Regional Programme for Latin America and Caribbean, as Deputy Executive Coordinator, UNDP/GEF. As UNDP coordinator for the Commission on Development and Environment for Latin America and the Caribbean produced "Our Own Agenda," "Amazonia without Myths," and "Our Common Agenda for the Americas."

The Advisory Group began its work in August 2009, and submitted its final report in January 2011.

© 2017 Inter-American Development Bank - All Rights Reserved.

Hello, Welcome to the IDB!

Please join our mailing list by simply entering your email below.