Skip Global Navigation
Future Finance
IDB Home > Structured and Corporate Finance > SCF-360AWARDS
Comment Tool Comment
Comment Tool Comment

Your comment for this page:

Share Tool Share
close Share Tool Share

About the Infrastructure 360º Awards

The IDB Private Sector Infrastructure Sustainability Awards, or the Infrastructure 360° Awards, seek to identify, assess and reward sustainable infrastructure investments made by the private sector and public private partnerships in the IDB borrowing member countries. The awards recognize outstanding sustainability practices in infrastructure investments in the region with emphasis on climate and environment, as well as leading practices in social impact, governance and innovation.

The main objective of the Infrastructure 360° Awards is to help identify, raise awareness and promote ways in which sustainable approaches by the private sector and public private partnerships in the IDB borrowing member countries can be used to plan, design, construct and operate infrastructure projects. The Infrastructure 360° Awards are the only infrastructure sustainability awards in the Americas. The first group of awardees was announced at the IDB's Annual Meeting in Sauípe, Brazil, March 28, 2014. View the Video of the Award Ceremony

Each year, winners are selected by a jury of infrastructure and sustainability experts from around the world, based on detailed project assessments provided by the Harvard Zofnass Program for Infrastructure Sustainability housed at the Harvard Graduate School of Design. The three award categories are designed to recognize cutting-edge sustainability efforts, which include projects that exhibit innovation, governance and collaborative efforts that make those projects world leaders in sustainability.

Who Should Apply?

Submissions are welcomed and encouraged from all entities involved in developing sustainable infrastructure projects in the IDB borrowing member countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Eligible projects must meet the following criteria:

  • Be under construction or must have recently become operational (within the past three years);
  • Have a project value greater than $30 million;
  • Be funded by the private sector or through a public private partnership (PPP), with at least 50% funded by the private sector.

Sectors include the following: Energy; Transport; Water Production; Wastewater and Solid Waste; and Telecommunications.

Those projects selected as finalists in previous years are ineligible for consideration for a period of three years following their selection. After the three year period, previous finalists may only re-apply to the Infrastructure 360° Awards after demonstrating a significant inclusion of the Harvard Zofnass recommendations (as laid out in the case study prepared for the project finalist) for increased sustainability into their project. Re-admittance into the Awards will determined by the Harvard Zofnass program.

Why Should You Apply?

Applying to the Infrastructure 360° Awards boosts public awareness of your project, and provides you with valuable insights from a detailed analysis carried out by an expert team of industry experts and academics.

Milestones and Deadlines for 2015


  • Press Release 2015 Finalists: September 5, 2014
  • Summary of findings (case studies finalists): December 5, 2014
  • Selection of Winners: February 4, 2015
  • Ceremony & Announcement of Winners: IDB Annual Meeting, March, 2015

© 2015 Inter-American Development Bank - All Rights Reserved.