Skip Global Navigation
IDB Home > Countries > Bolivia
Comment Tool Comment
Comment Tool Comment

Your comment for this page:

Share Tool Share
close Share Tool Share


Bolivia is one of the founding member countries of the IDB. Like all the shareholders, Bolivia appoints a Governor, who represents the country on the Board of Governors.

For day-to-day business at the Bank's Headquarters in Washington, D.C., Bolivia is represented by a chair on the Board of Executive Directors. The chair, shared with Paraguay and Uruguay, is headed by an Executive Director, who is elected to a three-year term by the Governors of Bolivia, Paraguay and Uruguay.

The Executive Director's Office - IDB Headquarters

Executive Director:
Luis Hernando Larrazabal (From Bolivia)
Alternate Executive Director:
Marcelo Bisogno (From Uruguay)
Temporary Alternate Executive Director(s):
Hugo Rafael Cáceres (From Paraguay), Gabriel Baldivieso (From Bolivia)
Hugo Rafael Cáceres (From Paraguay), Pablo Fleiss (From Uruguay), Gabriel Baldivieso (From Bolivia)
Elected By:
Bolivia, Paraguay and Uruguay
Number of votes:
262,191 (2.51% of the institution's ownership)

Contributed Capital from Bolivia (as of 12/31/2009 )

  US$ Million
Ordinary Capital: 871.70
Paid-in: 37.30
Callable: 834.40
Fund for Special Operations: (after exchange adjustments) 48.70

The Governor

  • Governor: Elba Viviana Caro Hinojosa, Ministra/Ministerio de Planificación del Desarrollo
  • Alternate Governor: Luis Alberto Arce Catacora, Ministro/Ministerio de Economía y Finanzas Públicas
  • Communications between the Governor and the Bank: Banco Central de Bolivia
  • Number of shares: 92,459 (0.89% of the institution's ownership)

© 2014 Inter-American Development Bank - All Rights Reserved.