Our priorities and areas of action

To help the region achieve greater economic and social progress, the IDB has the following main areas of action:

  • Reducing poverty and social inequalities;
  • Addressing the needs of small and vulnerable countries*;
  • Fostering development through the private sector;
  • Addressing climate change, renewable energy and environmental sustainability; and
  • Promoting regional cooperation and integration.

Our Objectives, Goals and Sector Priorities

Our Institutional Strategy: Report on the Ninth General Increase in the Resources of the Inter-American Development Bank (PDF)

* As defined in the Report on the Ninth General Capital Increase, these borrowing member countries, also known as Group C and D countries, are Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay,  Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago and Uruguay.